First Time Home Buyer/Transfer Tax Exemption

Банки, налоги, кредит
kristina
Новичок

First Time Home Buyer/Transfer Tax Exemption

Post by kristina »

We are now buying our first home. My husband is a US Citizen, I am a Permanent Resident. It has never occured to us that the fact that I am not a citizen might have anything to do with being transfer tax exempt.
I have not talked with the attorney yet but out real estate agent was told that it might be a problem and that another Russian Citizen that they worked with needed to get something from the Russian Embassy in order to be eligible.
I cannot imagine what that might be. And am hoping that someone has been thru this already and would give me a clue. Thank you. We are in Delaware if that makes any difference.
Lightick
Уже с Приветом

Re: First Time Home Buyer/Transfer Tax Exemption

Post by Lightick »

[quote:4025762678="kristina"]We are now buying our first home. My husband is a US Citizen, I am a Permanent Resident. It has never occured to us that the fact that I am not a citizen might have anything to do with being transfer tax exempt.
I have not talked with the attorney yet but out real estate agent was told that it might be a problem and that another Russian Citizen that they worked with needed to get something from the Russian Embassy in order to be eligible.
I cannot imagine what that might be. And am hoping that someone has been thru this already and would give me a clue. Thank you. We are in Delaware if that makes any difference.[/quote:4025762678]